[Curse App] WoW Addon Sync & Settings Backup

 

With the Curse app you can sync your addons between two or more of your computers, including Mac and Windows! 

This is a Curse Premium only feature.  Please be aware this feature is not available for the Promo Premium of the new Curse app.

Please make sure that you are using the new Curse app on all computers you are wanting to sync. For example, do not use the Curse Client v5 on one and the new Curse app on another. Make sure they are all the new Curse app.

BACKUP! 

This cannot be stressed enough!  Backup your addons and settings prior to doing any of this.  If something is messed up; you then have your backup to fall back on.  If you do not we may not be able to restore your information.  So BACKUP your addons and settings prior to setting up your sync.  It also does not hurt to have things backed up in multiple places.

If you need assistance on backing up your addons and settings, please use the following guides:

Please make sure to use one or all three of the guides provided to backup your addons and settings before starting.  We want to stress if you lose your settings or addons while trying to setup the sync we may not be able to restore the information.

Setup Sync Profile

Once you have backed up your addons and settings you should be on your "main" computer.  This is the computer that you have setup all your addons on.  

The sync will sync your addons (not the settings) between multiple computers.

Go into the Addon section of the Curse app and located the Sync option in the tool bar.

You will now get a popup.  Check the Enable AddonSync box.  

You will now get the option to name your Sync Profile.  Name it something you will know what it is.  Then click on CREATE

Now you will have the options for your Sync Profile.  

Sync Profile - What you named your Sync Profile

Included Installs - What computers are Synced to the Profile

Sync Option:

  • Auto Sync - Automatically sync when your launch or refresh the Curse app
  • Auto Uninstall -Will automatically uninstall addons removed from one computer in the sync.
  • Auto Backup Addon Settings - Automatically backup your settings when your launch or refresh the Curse app

Last Backup Date - When your addon settings were last backed up.

Last Synced - When you addons were last synced.

Backup Addons Settings

Note: This feature is not fully supported on MacOS at this time.

This will backup and store your addons settings.  This will not auto sync them to another computer.

In your Sync Profile you will want to click on the BACKUP button.

You will now need to wait for the backup to backup.  This can take a few!

If your settings were backed up you will get a notice saying such.

Error

If you receive an error that the settings couldn't be backed up.

This can be caused by several things.  If you have any other folders or files in your WTF > Account folder other than your Account(s) folder and SavedVariables folder.  Also things like if you have used junctions on your folders will also prevent the backup from working (people with multiple accounts may do this).

Sync With Another Computer

Once you have created your Sync Profile it should sync for the first time.   Log out of your "Main" computer, and log into your "slave" computer.  If you were already logged in, logout (not exit) and shut down the Curse app and restart it.

NOTE: Make sure you are logging into the exact same Curse account between your two computers.  

When you go to the addon section you should have 3 options.  You will want the SYNC ADDONS option.

Once again you will want to Enable AddonSync.

Next locate your Sync Profile from the drop down list.  This is what you had named previously.  Then click on JOIN.

It should automatically start syncing your addons for you.  You may see your addon list populating behind.

Error

If you get the error double check your addon count as many times all addons have been synced properly.

Settings

The Curse Addon Sync does not automatically sync addon settings; only addons.  You will need to click on the RESTORE button after you have synced your addons to the slave computer.